Virginia Minimum Wage Law
Virginia minimum wage laws protect employees from exploitation in the workplace. Minimum wage standards are designed to make sure all employees will be compensated enough to sustain an adequate standard of living. When employers violate minimum wage laws, it poses a threat to the overall well-being of the affected employees.
Luckily, there are passionate minimum wage violation lawyers like us, at the Spiggle Law Firm, who stand up for employee rights when minimum wage laws are violated. We strongly believe that everyone deserves to earn a decent living in accordance with the applicable wage and hour laws.
What is the Minimum Wage in Virginia?
Each state establishes its own minimum wage for employees working in that state. In addition to the state minimum wage, a separate minimum wage is also established under federal law. If there are discrepancies between the applicable state and federal minimum wage, you are entitled to receive whichever amount is greater.
The current minimum wage in Virginia is set at $7.25 per hour which is the same as the federal minimum wage. This means that most Virginia employees are entitled to receive $7.25 per hour. However, there are some narrow exceptions to this general rule. For more information about Virginia minimum wage law, consult with a knowledgeable attorney at Spiggle Law Firm.
Compensation for Tipped Employees
Tipped employees are probably the biggest exception to the standard minimum wage guidelines. Tipped employees generally work in the service industry and may include bartenders, wait staff, drivers, bellhops, or movers. If you regularly receive tips as a portion of your compensation, your employer is not necessarily required to pay you $7.25 per hour out of their pocket.
Although your employer does not have to pay you the current minimum wage, you are nonetheless entitled to receive this amount. If your tips combined with the wage paid from your employer does not meet the current minimum wage guidelines, your employer must make up the difference.
Laws Governing Employee Wages
There both are well established Virginia state laws and federal laws that govern minimum wage standards. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is the federal law that establishes a minimum wage. While the Virginia Minimum Wage Act addresses minimum wage in the state.
Both private sector and government employers are subject to minimum wage laws. However, some employees are exempt from coverage under the FLSA. Generally, exempt employees are not entitled to the same protections under minimum wage law as non-exempt employees. Employees who are classified as exempt should confirm that they have been properly classified to ensure that they are receiving all the protections they are entitled to under federal and Virginia minimum wage laws.
If you believe your rights under Virginia minimum wage law have been violated, you should consider contacting the Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor to file a claim. If you have not been paid an adequate minimum wage, you may be entitled to collect back wages. Documentation including pay stubs and time sheets are important pieces of evidence to support a minimum wage violation claim.
Learn More About Virginia Minimum Wage Law
If you are not receiving minimum wage, your employer may be in violation of Virginia minimum wage law. At the Spiggle Law Firm, we could review your situation and help you determine whether you are being compensated in accordance with minimum wage standards.