Virginia Minimum Wage Violation Lawyer
In Virginia, it is not always up to your employer to decide how much your compensation should be. With the implementation of state and federal employment laws, employers no longer have the ability to take advantage of their employees by paying unreasonably low wages. The law now sets the standards for minimum wages.
Despite the laws that protect the minimum wage rights of employees, some employers still continue to use abusive practices to try to deny their employees a lawful minimum wage. Minimum wage laws are crucial to ensure the welfare of employees in the workplace. Most employees are entitled to receive minimum wage for all of the hours they have worked. If your employer is not paying you in accordance with minimum wage laws, you may want to speak with a Virginia minimum wage violation lawyer about filing a claim. Our knowledgeable employment attorneys at the Spiggle Law Firm could work to ensure your rights are protected.
Virginia Minimum Wage Law
Minimum wage for most employees in Virginia is $7.25 per hour. There is essentially no way for an employer to legally avoid paying this amount to their employees. Generally, if your compensation is anything less than $7.25 per hour, your employer can be held liable for a minimum wage violation.
The law pertaining to minimum wage for tipped employees is slightly different. Minimum wage for tipped employees if $2.13 per hour. Despite this lower threshold for minimum wage, your employer must compensate for the difference if you do not earn the standard minimum wage between your tips and the pay from your employer.
Federal Compensation Law
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) establishes federal minimum wage law and deals with minimum wage violation claims. The federal minimum wage is currently the same as the minimum wage in Virginia. However, if there is a difference between the federal and state minimum wage rate, you should always be receiving whichever figure is higher.
If you work more than 40 hours in one work week, the FLSA also entitles you to be paid overtime compensation for those hours worked in excess of 40 in addition to minimum wage. Overtime compensation should equal 1.5 times your usual pay rate. For more information about federal compensation law, consult with a Virginia minimum wage violation lawyer at Spiggle Law Firm.
Violations of the Law
Minimum wage violations can be more discrete than simply not paying employees the required $7.25 per hour. Examples of some common minimum wage violations include:
• Forcing employees to work off the clock
• Not compensating employees for time spent working during breaks or through lunch
• Forging time cards to decrease hours
• Misclassifying workers as exempt from the FLSA
• Failing to compensate for work done in preparation for a shift
When you are not paid the minimum wage you are supposed to receive according to the law, your employer is committing wage theft. If you suspect your employer is violating minimum wage laws, you may consider filing a claim alleging a violation of the FLSA or Virginia wage and hour law.
Speak with a Virginia Minimum Wage Violations Attorney
If you are being denied minimum wage, do not stay silent. Taking action against employers who are violating minimum wage laws is an important step in promoting fairness in the workplace and getting the money you have rightfully earned. With the help of our attorneys at the Spiggle Law Firm, you can work towards getting the compensation you earned and deserve.
We know that if you are not being paid minimum wage, it is not only unfair but potentially illegal. A Virginia minimum wage violations lawyer is available to review your case in more detail. Click here for our free case assessment calculator.