Montgomery County Wage and Hour Lawyer
Legal issues related to your wages and work hours are rarely isolated incidents. Wage and hour violations often affect multiple pay cycles and may even inhibit how an entire staff is compensated.
If you are being paid less than you are entitled by law to receive, a Montgomery County wage and hour lawyer from the Spiggle Law Firm could represent you and work to hold employers accountable to be in compliance with the requirements of state and federal labor laws.
Understanding Minimum Wage in Montgomery County
The minimum wage is the lowest amount an employer can pay an employee who is covered under state or federal minimum wage laws. The minimum wage that workers in Montgomery County are entitled to receive is $11.50 per hour. This is higher than the minimum wage in other parts of Maryland, which is currently $9.25 per hour.
Montgomery County employees who are not entitled to receive the local minimum wage include tipped employees, workers younger than 20, and certain employees of recreational establishments. The Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR) enforces minimum wage and overtime laws in Montgomery County.
Since the applicable state minimum wage is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 established under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the federal law will not be the basis for most minimum wage claims in Montgomery County.
Montgomery County Overtime Requirements
Violations of overtime laws are one of the most frequently encountered wage and hour issues in Montgomery County. With limited exceptions, if you work more than 40 hours in one work week, you are entitled to be paid one and a half times your normal rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40.
You do not need to ask permission from your employer in order to receive overtime. Hours spent working through breaks to meet deadlines or working from home should count toward the overtime threshold.
Montgomery County overtime laws apply to employers with two or more employees. In addition to state law, employers may also be required to adhere to the terms of the FLSA’s overtime guidelines.
Employees Exempt from Overtime
Certain employees are exempt from overtime requirements. Misclassifying an employee as “exempt” from overtime is a deceitful tactic that employers sometimes use to scale back operating costs. Employees are most often misclassified as independent contractors or salaried employees because employers do not have to pay these types of workers overtime.
Could I Be Fired for Filing a Wage and Hour Claim?
You should not be concerned about losing your job in connection with raising concerns about a wage and hour problem. Filing a good-faith wage and hour claim is never lawful grounds for termination.
If your employer fires you for asserting your rights under wage and hour laws, this is considered unlawful retaliation. Retaliation may also or alternatively happen in the form of a demotion or other punishment.
Talk to a Montgomery County Wage and Hour Attorney Today
We here at the Spiggle Law Firm want to help you collect the compensation you deserve. Employees should be paid for all hours they have worked, from their first training sessions to their final day of employment.
If you have any questions or concerns about your compensation, a Montgomery County wage and hour lawyer could be able to help. To find out whether you have a viable case, click here for our no-cost online case assessment.