Howard County Wage and Hour Lawyer

Share This
Share

Employers refusing to adhere to minimum wage and hourly laws can directly impact you, even if it falls to your employer to determine wages. If an employer fails to compensate you in accordance with applicable wage and hours regulations, you have the legal right to seek those wages through a lawsuit.

A Howard County wage and hour lawyer from the Spiggle Law Firm may be able to examine payment information and determine whether you have grounds for a case. If so, one of our dedicated employment attorneys could work with you to make sure you receive accurate compensation for time spent working.

Howard County Minimum Wage

Howard County employees have a variety of wage and hour protections. In addition to the federal minimum wage and overtime guidelines established in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), employees are also protected under local labor regulations.

Employers in Howard County generally must pay their employees federal or local minimum wage, depending on which is greater. As of July 1, 2018, Maryland’s minimum wage increased to $10.10 per hour from the previous wage of $9.25 per hour. Since the FLSA places the federal minimum wage at $7.25 per hour, you should receive the higher state minimum wage if you work in Howard County.

While most employees are eligible for the state wage, certain exceptions do exist. Commonly, tipped employees in Howard County do not receive the standard minimum wage but are instead entitled to receive a minimum hourly wage of $3.63 per hour. This wage, when combined with tips, should meet the current Maryland minimum wage.

Tipped employees seeking backpay may find it valuable to contact a Howard County wage and hour attorney. They may advise you to collect paystubs, tip receipts, and other documentation to help build a strong case for compensation.

Howard County Overtime Compensation

Employees in Maryland who work more than a designated number of hours per week are entitled to receive additional compensation that exceeds regular hourly pay. Eligible employees covered by the FLSA or Maryland state overtime laws are entitled to receive compensation equal to 1.5 times their normal hourly rate for time worked beyond 40 in a single work week. There is no legal limit to the number of overtime hours an employee may incur.

Similar to wage requirements, some workers may not be entitled to receive overtime compensation. A wage and hour lawyer in Howard County may be able to provide insight into what positions are ineligible for overtime. Generally, these could include independent contractors and salaried administrative, executive, or professional employees.

Enforcement of Wage and Hour Laws

Depending on your individual circumstances, you may have a potential wage and hour claim under federal law, state law, or both. Under the advisement of a wage and hour attorney, federal claims in Howard County could be filed through the U.S. Department of Labor. On the state level, the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR) enforces minimum wage and overtime laws.

In some scenarios, filing a lawsuit may be appropriate. Employees who have suffered a wage and hour violation may be entitled to receive the compensation they have earned—commonly referred to as back wages—as well as additional damages. If it is found that your employer knowingly engaged in unfair wage or hour practices, civil or criminal proceedings could follow.

Consulting with a Howard County Wage and Hour Attorney

Our knowledgeable legal team may be able to answer any questions you have regarding a wage and hour issue. Any experienced Howard County wage and hour lawyer from the Spiggle Law Firm could help you examine and understand the options available to you when it comes to a possible labor claim.

Our team is passionate about advocating for employees’ rights. If you suspect you are being unfairly compensated, reach out to schedule an initial consultation, or click here for a free online case review.