Tap to Text

Anne Arundel County Wage and Hour Lawyer

Share This
Share

The concept of a fair wage for fair work has long been the cornerstone of employment law in Maryland, and all workers in Anne Arundel County enjoy the protections provided by state laws. One major part of these protections are rules concerning proper pay for hourly workers.

Maryland state law creates a minimum hourly wage that all employers must provide to the vast majority of hourly workers. State laws also control the proper application of overtime and the frequency of pay. However, many employers are ignorant of or choose to ignore the state’s laws concerning wages.

Any employer who refuses to pay their workers for all time on the job violates state law and may be responsible to pay their employees up to three times the illegally withheld wages. An Anne Arundel County wage and hour lawyer from our firm could help you stand up to employers who abuse their workers. Call the Spiggle Law Firm to find out how our skilled employment attorneys could help you pursue such a suit and demand full payment for all time worked.

State Laws Concerning Fair Pay

Maryland Labor and Employment Law §3-413 states that the current hourly minimum wage is $10.10 per hour. This only applies to employees who earn by the hour and not for tips, such as waitstaff in restaurants. Employers must still provide an hourly wage of $3.63 per hour to these workers.

Other employees who may earn less than the minimum wage include:

  • Salespeople working on commission
  • Salaried workers
  • Executives
  • Workers under the age of 16 working fewer than 20 hours per week

Furthermore, all employers must pay hourly workers at a rate of one and a half times their hourly wage for all hours worked in excess of 40 per week. That being said, many of the same exceptions that exempt employees from earning minimum wage also apply to these overtime rules. An accomplished wage and hour lawyer in Anne Arundel County could help you determine your eligibility for overtime pay.

Legal Options in Case of Wage Violations

As a knowledgeable attorney could explain, the laws in Anne Arundel County allow employees alleging wage violations to file lawsuits in their local courthouse. According to Md. Labor and Employment Law §3-427, these actions can demand the reimbursement of all illegally withheld wages. The court could also order the defendant employer to pay liquidated damages equal to the amount of illegally withheld pay to the workers as a penalty.

Other rules mandate how and when an employer is required to pay an employee—as an example, at a frequency at least once every two weeks. Employees who are not paid according to this law may file a similar suit for damages under Md. Labor and Employment Law §3-507.2. With help from an Anne Arundel County attorney, a wage and hour lawsuit could demand up to three times the damages you accrued.

An Anne Arundel County Wage and Hour Attorney Could Fight for Worker Rights

Employers in Anne Arundel County are subject to labor laws that mandate the payment of minimum wage for most employees, require employers to provide overtime pay, and even describe the required frequency of payment. Any employer who violates these laws may find themselves under investigation by the State. Workers who believe that their employers have committed wage theft may also have a cause of action to file a lawsuit in their local court.

These suits might often claim damages in excess of their actual lost wages, but an Anne Arundel County wage and hour lawyer could help you effectively pursue these claims. Call the Spiggle Law Firm today to get started, or click here to use our online case review tool.